Over ninety years ago, a chic little optical boutique opened in the Madeleine area of Paris. The distinctive location on rue Vignon is close to the famed Madeleine Church, and a short stroll from Concorde. If boutiques could talk, what a fascinating tale the Lafont shop could reveal! The building was constructed in the early 19th Century, and has survived global depression, a World War, and numerous changes in selling eyewear. The boutique strides confidently towards its centenary, rich in history – complimented and enhanced by modern times and trends.
Louis Lafont opened the boutique in 1923, and a guided tour by Matthieu Lafont – the third generation to be working in the business – provided a fascinating insight into the family legacy. Frames from the archives are on display in custom-crafted cabinets, so the shop is a delightful mixture of Lafont history, and the current collections.
In this cosy, elegant atmosphere, clients are able to choose from the vast range of Lafont frames – optical and sunglasses – for men, women and children. In addition, Lafont has opened their first Atelier, tucked behind this architectural gem. The original stalls where horses were once kept provide further flashback into the rich Lafont heritage. In the Atelier, clients can creat a pair of one-of-a-kind frames with numerous possibilities for shapes, colours and materials. Certain materials are exclusive to L’Atelier Lafont, including buffalo horn. Pedigree, experience, and artisan craftsmanship are expressions of refinement and authentic luxury available at the L’Atelier Lafont.
If a visit to Paris is on your agenda, a positive and rewarding experience is definitely a visit to the Lafont Boutique and L’Atelier Lafont — 11 rue Vignon 75008 Paris.www.lafont.fr JG